Trump’s travel ban is set to add four more African countries – including Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania and Eritrea

Further African countries set to be soon among corss-hairs people President Trump’s immigration ban.

Three years after contentious travel ban at the start slapped on seven Muslim-majority nations, Trump government is set to extend the ban to reportedly include four African countries which include: Sudan, Eritrea, Tanzania and Nigeria. Among them are: Belarus, Myanmar and Kyrgyzstan.

While not revealing the other countries which will be affected, President Trump has confirmed the plans on the sidelines of the World Economic Forum in Davos. An announcement of the added countries is expected as earlier as Monday, Politico reports.

Given the legal challenges the initial travel ban faced following which a watered-down version was implemented, additional countries are unlikely to face a blanket ban on all citizens. Instead, possible restrictions may include travel bans issued to administration or issuing shorter-term visas on citizens. However, an inclusion on the travel ban list will likely cause increased scrutiny for visa applicants from those countries.

Some African countries which are expected to be affected already have some history with the Trump government.

Nigeria, the foremost high-profile country into account , has particularly come under focus from the White House. With Nigeria accounting for the third highest number folks visa overstays in 2018, the Trump administration has become tougher on Africa’s largest economy.

After indefinitely suspending its visa interview waiver for Nigerian applicants (the waiver allowed frequent travelers renew their visa without going through in-person interviews each time), the US also raised visa application fees for Nigerians by including additional “reciprocity fees” ranging from $80 to $303 depending on the class of visa. And even though the Nigerian government immediately slashed visa application fees for American applicants in a bid to get the US to reverse its price increase, the reciprocity fees remain in place. The clampdown measures have resulted in Nigeria recording the largest global drop-off in visitors to the US.

For its part, Sudan was one of the Muslim-majority countries initially named in the controversial Jan. 2017 travel ban. But, following legal challenges in US courts, Sudan was removed alongside Chad and Iraq. And, in Sept. 2017, Eritrea had all its nationals disallowed from applying tourist B visas for delays in accepting its citizens who had been ordered removed from the US.

Source: QuartzAfrica